imAGYnations- my creative process

My earthly dearth…

I had been hard at work on my current book with a deadline for the 25th to have it formatted and up in Createspace and Kindle. I’m not sure if I’ll make that. 

 

I bought an external hard drive to ease my angst (ironically, I’d bought a flash drive to save my files, had done my blog talk reviews for Jd Holiday on her It’s Story Time show, written on my blog, saved to flash and my computer crashed. Utterly and completely. And the jpegs and gifs were rescued but my books and all Photoshop documents were lost. Literally nearly the same thing happened– okay I was THINKING of blogging, but other than that, I backed up all the files (didn’t do the programs, major duh) but don’t know at this point if they were saved).

 

So now I’m waiting on wiser people than I to pull my butt out of the sling it’s in over the slow roasting fire. There’s been quite a few emotional setbacks in the last week, which is ironic because in the previous two I’d been thinking seriously of writing more humor. Seriously. (Especially when some had noted that there was a bit of an absence of Maine humor. It’s there, but far and wide, kind of like hopping the Portland Bay islands). Seriously.

And weirdness. I get epiphanies walking and sleeping and had one after spending the night with my eyes glued to my lighted magnifying glass (the real reason I don’t read as much as I used to). So hopefully in the next two days I’ll get on line.There are some things on process I want to share, but I can’t access my files to illustrate, so I will wait, bide my time till this weekend. And other things I want to share about the journey of publishing, not sure I want to invest, especially without the breakup of images. So there it stands.

Next month, besides trying to consolidate this blog with a website and all the other ventures, I will create Facebook pages for my books, as well as develop classroom guides, at least for Annie. And try my durndest to not be heartbroken over this shtuff and get that happy back.

Good LUCK!

Leave a Reply

henryherz.com

Children's & Fantasy/Sci-Fi Books

bookbird.wordpress.com/

From the Heart of Evanston Public Library

Cool School Visits

Help and advice for authors and illustrators who do author school visits

EMU's Debuts

From Deal to Debut: the Path to Publication

Inklings

David Macinnis Gill

Flashlight Press

Picture books that explore and illuminate

Kelly Barnhill

Author, teacher, mom. Newbery medalist. Terrible gardener. Maker of pie.

thenerdypanda

Kid lit book reviews

itsallaboutkidsandliteracy

Kids + Books = Love

Books in the Meadow

I'm Hayley Barrett. I write for young people. I live to make kids laugh. Committed rereader. Dressage daydreamer. Pollyanna deluxe.

John M. Cusick

Write. Represent.

Under the Honeysuckle Vine

Notes from a Southern Writer

Brain Boss

Med Free Brain Health | Automated Wealth | HappYness Hacker | Author Med Free Bipolar & Eat Weird Be Normal

copper, tin, wood, & will

...a woman's journey into building

Raising Book Monsters

Kids who devour books and hunger for knowledge

Noble Illustrations

Kathryn Ault Noble Illustrations

A walk with my camera

all about human interests

